“A taste of love” by Denise Tarasuk

This is the second real-life vignette submitted by Denise; hopefully more to come!

I decided dedicate a entitled “Moments: Present and Past” as these short stories represent moments in regular life, elevated by the interpretation of the writer over the customary trivialities that clutter our routines.

Enjoy!

The sous chef’s pride – Photo by Denise Tarasuk – Windsor, Nova Scotia, April 24 2022

Moments: Present and Past

Sunday, April 24, 2022

Time: 12: 34 pm

Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

43 degrees: Will the wind ever stop blowing?

Weather: cloudy, dull with spots of sunshine

The sound of a chickadee taping on the window ledge

Sunrise: 6:15 am

Sunset: 8:13 pm

Pressure: 30.13 Hg

A Taste of Love

Everyone has heard or spoken the words of W.S Gilbert “It’s love that makes the world go round.” With life being so difficult in this time and age, simple gestures of love count. Sometimes something so simple as chicken soup can speak to the soul, heal a broken heart, or soothe a deep-chest cold.

Chicken soup can make all the difference not only in taste, by each defining herb, but by its ability to heal a dear friend sipping on the broth when ill. Perhaps a scientist, a researcher by profession, may say it is a placebo effect, but I beg to differ. Energy is transferred by intention, action, good thoughts, and affection that a quantum leap of molecules may only define. There is prana, the breath of life, in each fresh herb, root vegetable, and a spoonful of chicken soup because it is made with attention and love.

The selection of herbs such as rosemary, sage, and thyme define the soup’s healing properties after carefully selecting rosemary from a plant in my backyard. I chop rosemary finely and then put it in a large pot filled with boiling water. Rosemary sets the stage. The aroma fills the air, and my thought processes and memory become clear. Rosemary reduces anxiety, and the volatile oils act as an antibacterial, giving qualities to the soup and the chef who inhales the strong, essential oils.

Thyme, a delicate tiny, leafed herb that grows between slate cracks in my backyard, is cut and placed in a bowl. Pull the leaves down, so only the stock is left. The new growth is too soft to pluck the remaining leaves, so I throw the last part into the pot. Thyme is one of my favorite herbs; it packs a mean punch full of properties that helps the worst cold. Thyme makes my heart sing.

Sage is an herb-filled with wisdom as its name gives way. With an intense aroma, sage has been used for centuries by First Nations. The herb comes from the Latin word to heal but is the wisdom handed down by the Elders such as Wilfred Buck that tells me, “To take sage, we must thank Mother Nature. We must thank Mother Earth and the plant, a living thing. We must use the plant in a good way, to help others, to help them heal. We must remember to thank our creator and leave the root behind for the plant to continue to grow.” As I chop sage finely, I think about the messages that our elders have left for us. I carefully place the sage into the pot remembering that this herb is good for colds and assists the immune system in gentle healing.

Vegetables are plentiful in my chicken soup, but it is the chopping that heals and brings peace to my mind. Looking at each carrot, with my knife that is an extension of my hand, I take my time to carefully line up each carrot and slice it into the exact size that brings out the best flavor. The motion is tiny and precise, with a slicing technique that I have learned from my son, who went to a culinary institute.

During the pandemic, with so much family time, I asked my son to give me a lesson each time we were together in the kitchen. There are many ways to slice an onion, cut a carrot, and make celery sticks the perfect size. As the months went by, I spent more and more time with the art of chopping and cutting according to technique lessons my son learned from Jacque Pepin. The art of chopping or knife technique is essential. Chopping is done with a peace of mind and the stillness of a monk peeling one thousand potatoes, sitting alone, with no other thoughts, high on a mountain in a Tibetan Monastery.

Adding chicken to the pot brings flavor and warmth. Chicken is heating and nourishing in nature. As the soup warms and is fully cooked, I dish out the broth with chicken and vegetables. I give a ring to my neighbor and listen for signs of improvement as she and her husband are ill.

My husband opens their door and carefully places the tureen of soup and a bouquet of bright orange tulips inside my neighbor’s home. The soup will help them heal. I send a message of love on the phone. Words are so important, knowing someone really cares and is there to help. Nobody wants to be alone during an illness.

In this critical time and age, where everything seems upside down, I realized that we must pause to help our friends and neighbors. Tell them you love them with your whole heart, with everything you do and words you speak. If this does not seem possible, make chicken soup with all the spices of love and life, and they will heal.