A Perfect Cup of Chai Masala by Denise Tarasuk

Here comes a recipe with a story (or a story with a recipe; you chose) about drinking Chai Masala in Nova Scotia.

Cups at Prince Edward Island Preserves Company – Photo by Denise Tarasuk,, June 2022

Other stories:

Moments: Present and Past” a diary by Denise Tarasuk

A collection of real life vignettes from an adventurous friend.

A dance with the Terciopelo: fer de lance

A taste of love , A review by Muriel Zimmer

Moments: Present and Past

Two weeks

Moments: Present and Past

Thursday, June 9, 2022

Time: 1:15 pm

Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

70 degrees

Weather: Sunny and very muggy; it promises to rain

Sunrise: 5:29 am Oh! How very wonderful to watch the sunrise.

Sunset: 9:02 pm. Completely wonderful to think there is sunshine right up to 9 pm

Pressure: 29.83 Hg

A Perfect Cup of Chai Masala

When guests arrive at our home, I always offer a cup of chai with fragrant Indian spices. Sometimes I receive a phone call in the afternoon asking if a friend could come over for a cup of chai. They explain that they are desperate! They long for a good chat and a cup of chai with some warm Indian spices.

I have had many such requests in the past, but it always surprises me when my Indian friends tell me their chai is horrible. Could they please come over and have a cup of decent chai? They are lonely or feeling stressed and need a good heart to heart. They would love to sit in my backyard and have a hot chai cup with all the sweet spices.

Today I met with my dear friends, out in the country, along the old Dyke Road. They asked how I made my chai and what spice packet did I use? Where did I buy the tea?

I explained that all the spices are from India, but I would gladly grind up cloves, cardamom, and cinnamon as a gift. I promised to type a recipe and invite them over to learn the art of making chai. How much water to boil, the perfect amount of sugar to add, a dash of ground spices, and a touch of milk make the perfect cup.

Making chai is an art, and the recipe has a secret. Once beginning the process, I do not take my eye off the chai, or it does not turn out. Chai is like a sweet baby; it knows when you are not paying attention. Chai is delicate and demanding; the taste is worth the effort.

The spice mixture is a blend of cardamom, cinnamon, and clove. Cardamom brings joy to the heart. Perhaps joy is the greatest gift one can give to a friend or a loved one.

As I drove along the old Dyke Road, admiring the beauty of the fields lined with colorful lupins that caught my eye, the largest deer I have ever seen jumped out in front of my car. I slammed on the brakes and quickly came to a halt. The deer, followed by two pheasants, dashed for the bush, leaving their long tales sticking out for me to see. Then a dove flew over my car, sending a message of love, joy, and peace. 

Directions for Chai Masala

Grind two pods of cardamom, one clove bud, and a small piece of cinnamon with a mortar and pestle

Bring two cups of water to a boil

Add the spice mixture

Add 2 tsp. of orange pekoe tea

Add 2 to 4 tsp. of sugar

Bring to a boil

Add ¼ to ½ cup of milk depending on taste preference

Simmer for 2 to 4 minutes

Strain the tea into two cups

Enjoy!