Beyond COVID by Thomas Ichim (with Chinese translation by Yao Peck Lu)

This is in between a short story and a bare reflection. Yet quite resonant. It reminded my of “Disappeared” by Yao Lu and the “Premonition of the eve” by myself”.

I started, therefore, a new category of blogs called “reflections” (see new tab)

I hope that you will read it and like it

Stromboli erupting in the twilight – From Roberta’s terrace – Photo by Roberta Marincola. Pizzo November 15th 2021

The first night was the worst, or at least so I thought. The pounding headache, the unceasing coughing and the complete absence of olfactory sensation resulting in an extraordinary abnormal state of mind. It was as if it was not me anymore. It seems like I was watching myself from above. Perhaps these feelings are the genesis of the expression“besides”oneself.

第一个晚上是最糟糕的,至少我这么认为。头痛欲裂,不断地咳嗽和完全失去嗅觉,使得精神失常。那就好像我不再是我,好像我从自己的上方观察自己。兴许这些感受就是“除了自己”这一表达的起源。

The emptiness of the hotel, the isolation, and the imagined stench of cheap cleaning solution provoked a bizarre tingle along my spine.

“There is a good chance that this is where you will die.”

I heard the voice and it kept repeating. I needed to sleep but I couldn’t. I just kept seeing the body, the grave, the family crying. I didn’t want it. I wanted none of it.

酒店的空荡,与世隔绝,以及想象中廉价清洁剂的恶臭让我脊背发凉。“这很有可能就是你死去的地方”。 我听到了那个声音,它一直在重复。我需要睡觉,但我睡不着。我只是不断地看到尸体,坟墓,家人在哭泣。我不想要它。我什么都不想要。

Sleeping for 3 hours. Waking in cold sweats. The lack of smell added to my isolation from the world. I could not wait to get home.

我睡了3个小时,然后在冷汗中醒来。气味缺乏使我离尘世更远。我迫不及待地想回家。

Seven days later, I finally come home, and I am still isolated. Isolated emotionally, isolated socially and isolated physically.

七天后,我终于回家了,我仍然被孤立。情感上被孤立,社交上被孤立和身体上被孤立。

I still wake up and I will wake up.

我仍然在醒来,我将会醒来。

Alone now and Alone forever

我此刻孤独并永远孤独。

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.